President's Message
Stephen Genoni
member photo
I intend devote this edition to winners. Up first are eight Willetton Senior High School (WSHS) students (four each from years 10 and 11) and one teacher all of whom were recognised at our Annual Awards night on 8 December 2021.These student awards are for outstanding performance in Academics, Sport, The Arts and The Spirit of Community Service.
The Year 10 awards went respectively to: Mehvish Mehboob; Angelique Raison; Hannah Cooke; and Michelle Abraham.
From left with Year 10 Coordinator Ms Judy Gauci are: Mehvish Mehboob (Academic); Hannah Cooke (Arts); Angelique Raison (Sport); and Michelle Abraham (Community Spirit). 
The Year 11 awards went respectively to: Robert Lewis; Katie Duncan; Bianca Harle; and Samandra De Silva 
From left with Year 11 Coordinator  Mr Michael Ialacci are: Bianca Harle (Arts); Katie Duncan (Sport); Robert Lewis (Academic); and Samandra De Silva (Community Spirit). 
To view the impressive citations of all eight winners Click here and to view their certificates Click here.
The Club then had much pleasure in recognising Mr Erik Pretorius as the WSHS Teacher Of The Year. To read Erik's equally impressive citation Click here. 
From Left: Acting Club President Ian Ross; Teacher of the Year Erik Pretorius; and WSHS Principal Mr Trevor Hunter.
So much of what is achieved by the students is thanks to the hard work and dedication of the WSHS staff  who with the School Principal, Mr Trevor Hunter, were represented at the meeting by Ms Helen Wong; Ms Cheryl Ventnor; Ms Jan Kulasekera; Ms Mita Munshi along with Ms Pip Peake and Mrs Sue Thorp whose special efforts toward the Awards night were recognised with bouquets of flowers.
The Club has also been a winner with the induction of Steve Womack. We warmly welcome him and Cathy to the Club and look forward to a long and fruitful association.We'll profile Steve in a later edition.                     
From Left: The masterly Ian Ross who conducted the induction, Kevin Baruffi, Cathy, Steve and me
Tara Simich (see image below) is also a winner. She was our very interesting and dynamic guest speaker on Wednesday 24 November and has an outstanding business background the foundation of which was laid studying a Bachelor of Commerce in Economics at Curtin University before completing a Scholarship at the State University of New York in 2009. Tara has been a finalist in a variety of competitive business awards and won the 2009 Business Icon award; and been declared the WA Exercise Professional of the Year in 2011 and WaToday Entrepreneur of the Year in 2014. 
Thanks to Greg Vines, Vic Camp and David Honeychurch three more toasts to Rotary Clubs around the world appear in the right hand column. 
The same goes our Club Joker's Jokes which continue to be delivered in style by Raffle Master Stuart Diggins  Click here.
Our last meeting for the year is on Wednesday 15 December 2021. It's a BBQ with partners. This will be followed by our Christmas Breakfast at Royal Perth Golf Club on Sunday 19 December 2021 and in the New Year with the President's Barbecue on 5 January 2022. Our next regular Club meeting is on 12 January 2022 The members rostered for that meeting are Gordon Booth, Ann Edgar, Simon Cubitt and Vic Camp. A new roster will be published soon for the remainder of the Rotary Year.
Greg proposed a toast to the Rotary Club of Katherine, NT in Rotary District 9560. It was his first Rotary Club where he remained from 1984-87 prior to re-locating back to Perth and joining our Club in November 1987. The Club was sponsored by the Rotary Club of Darwin and chartered on 10 May 1977. It has twenty (20) members (with a 50/50 gender ratio) led by President  Christine Sutherland. Their Club actively supports the local primary school, motor sports club, Rotary Park and Suicide Prevention programs. They raise funds manning gates and stalls at the Annual Katherine Races and Katherine Show and have had the Commanding Officer and other senior officers from RAAF Base Tindal as guest speakers. The base is a major RAAF facility with some 500 personal plus families.  Other guest speakers have included                           
local and Territory members of Parliament and business people
Vic chose the Rotary Club of Gibraltar because he had the pleasure of visiting "The Rock" when migrating to Australia. The Club is in Rotary International District 1120 and was chartered on 5 April 1966. The have thirty three (33) members led by President Jane Hart-Simmons and meet at 7.30pm Tuesday at The Rocks Hotel, 3 Europa Road, Gibraltar. Their Executive team includes six women and the Club is very active with Polio Plus and Shelter Box high on their agenda. They also run a Rotary works club including courses in accounting and other business activities to help people looking for work or wanting to set up businesses; provide grants of up to AUD 1000 for adolescents between 14-19 funded by the Duke of Edinburgh Awards; run  "A Clean up the World" campaign cleaning up the popular beaches around Gibraltar; and give an annual Award to worthy community members in the categories of “The extra mile” “Unsung Hero” and "Young Person" and have raised funds to purchase a Portal scanner for the Renal Unit at the Hospital Nephrology department.
David's plan was to toast the Rotary Club Of Mitcham UK where he lived during World War 2, but for want of sufficient information on the Club’s website, he opted instead for the Rotary Club Of  Mitcham in South Australia. The Club is in Rotary International District 9510 and was chartered on 18 March 1962. The forty four (44) members are led by President Marko Klobas and when they can, they meet at the Edinburgh Hotel, High St., Mitcham at 6.30pm on Wednesday evening; and at other times by ZOOM. The Club was the Home of the District Governor David Jones in 2020-2021 They raise their funds through sausage sizzles and sponsored walks; make significant contributions to the Rotary Foundation and are active in all four Avenues Of Service including Awards For Excellence and to Technical And Further Education students; Support for The Hutt Street Centre for the homeless; sponsoring indigenous scholars to study in health related fields; and have established and maintain a Sensory Garden at the South Australian Repatriation Hospital; Rotary Youth Exchange; Shelterbox, End Polio Now; Support for the School Of St Judes in Tanzania; and helping establish a desalination plant in the Maldives; and Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (RYLA) , National Youth Science Forum (NYSF) and a Life Skills Camp similar to the RotaryYouth Program Of Enrichment (RYPEN)
Birthdays & Anniversaries
Member Birthdays
Frank Murgia
December 16
Join Date
Stephen Genoni
December 4, 2017
4 years
Pushpa Pushpalingam
December 31, 2000
21 years
ClubRunner Mobile
Please add to your safe sender list or address book.
To view our privacy policy, click here.
102-2060 Winston Park Drive, Oakville, ON, L6H 5R7